Kolomenskoye village was first mentioned in the testament of (1339). As time went by, the village was developed as a favourite country estate of grand princes of Muscow.
Recognizing its outstanding value for humanity, UNESCO decided to inscribe the church on the World Heritage List in 1994.
On the high bank of Moskva River one can see the Church of the Ascension built in 1532. It is one of the first tent-roof stone churches in Old Russia. Another three architectural landmarks are situated in the immediate vicinity of the Church of the Ascension. These are St. George the Victorious Bell Tower (XVI c.), Water Tower (XVII c.) and a “Hunting Pavillion” (built in 1825 by architect Eugraph Tyurin). Dyakovo can boast of a magnificent architectural site – theChurch of Beheading of St. Johnthe Forerunner. Built in the middle of the XVI century, this church served as a prototype for St. Basil (Intercession) Cathedral on theRed Squareand was supposedly constructed by the same architects.
The historical nucleus of Kolomenskoye, the Tsar’s Courtyard, was encompassed by a wall, partly stone and partly wooden, with two passage gates, namely the Front (Palace) Gate, the gala entrance to the Tsar’s estate, and the Saviour (Back) Gate.
The complex adjoining the Front Gate comprises the Prikazniye Chambers, or the Chancellery, the Colonel’s Chambers where chiefs of regiments that guarded the palace were housed, Fryazhsky (Dry) Cellar and a two-storeyed Sitny Yard where beverages for the Tsar’s table were prepared. The Front Gate and Sitny Yard complexes are wholly given to the museum expositions.
In the XVII century, an “eighth wonder of the world”, a unique palace of Tsar Alexey Mikhailovich that incorporated the best achievements in the wooden architecture of the time was erected in Kolomenskoye.
Beginning from 1645, the destiny of the Church of Our Lady of Kazan that was being built at the time was inextricably connected with the name of Tsar Alexey Mikhailovich (who reigned from 1645 to 1676). The Tsar loved the estate and came here for rest every summer for thirty years running. Eventually the Church of Our Lady of Kazan assumed the functions of the family chapel; traditionally, the Tsar’s treasury and the most valuable belongings that were brought to Kolomenskoye for the summer in royal carts were kept there. After the construction of the church was completed, the interiors were painted and richly decorated with fabrics and carpets
Among natural attractions of Kolomenskoye Park are apple orchards. The orchards, reconstructing the Tsar’s 17th century gardens and covering a vast part of Kolomenskoye Park, are ideal picnicking spots. In winter there are far fewer visitors in the park and it looks even more impressive being dressed in white.
Kolomenskoye is one of the most favoured parks of Moscow citizens. The Park regularly hosts all kind of holidays and festivals.
Park: Daily from 7 am to 9 pm (from April till August from 7 am to 12
Museums’ expositions are open daily, except Mondays, from 10 am – 6 pm. On Saturdays from 10 am to 7 pm.
Multiple tours are also available upon request.
Admission to park is free.
Admission to museums: from 30-300 руб.